Explore our Database Collection

Doing some research? Looking for great articles to read?

Find it all right here in our database collection.

A-Z Directory Database Titles


3M E-Books

3M E-Books       Browse, check out and read books at home or on the go with variety of mobile apps.


ABC-CLIO

ABC-CLIO - is a collection of History Databases including: American Government; American History; United States Geography; World at War; World Geography; World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras; World History: The Modern Era.


Academic Search - Main Edition


Academic Search / History & Science

Academic Search Main Edition - is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for nearly 2,000 journals and periodicals and is updated daily on EBSCOhost.


AHFS Consumer Medication Information

AHFS Consumer Medication Information - a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest. This content is updated monthly.


Ancestry.com

Family History and Genealogy - Can only be used in the library.


AtoZ World Culture

175 COUNTRIES From Afghanistan to Zimbabwe
Curious about the world? Information about world history, cultures, languages, foods, religions, and much more is just a click away.


AtoZ World Travel

202 WORLD CITIES From Aberdeen to Zurich. A comprehensive travel guide providing practical information for experiencing the world and all its wonders, for travelers and students alike.


Basic ESL - Learn English Online

Basic ESL improves an individual’s listening, speaking, reading and writing skills through a simple to follow, and instructionally proven curriculum.

Students learn English quickly and effectively on relevant topics including: family, home, school and many other topics. In each lesson students learn key vocabulary and how to use that vocabulary in conversation.

No computer experience is necessary.


Business Source Elite

Business Source Elite - business database provides full text for over 1,000 business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.


Cypress Resume

Specifically designed for job seekers skittish about writing, Cypress Resume allows anyone to create a professional resume and cover letter in a matter of minutes.


EBSCO Host (MainFile)

Mainfile - is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text and indexing & abstracting for more than 12,000 total publications. Coverage encompasses all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. In addition, the database also offers over 440,000 photos, maps & flags and more than 17,500 company profiles. MainFile is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

EBSCO Host contains Magazines, Newspapers, and other research materials / Revistas en Ingles con Traductor a Espanol


Education Portal

Free online college courses.


Education Resource Information Center (ERIC)

Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) - provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.


Elementary School Resources

This resource includes sections on:

  • Animals
  • Arts and Music
  • Biographies
  • Geography
  • Language Arts
  • Math
  • Science and Health
  • Social Studies


Health Source – Consumer Edition

Health Source: Consumer Edition - the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.


Health Source – Nursing/Academic Edition

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.  Also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.


High School Advanced Resources

This resource includes sections on:

  • Arts and Literature
  • Biography
  • Business and Government
  • Current Issues
  • Geography
  • Health
  • History
  • Science and Math


High School Resources

This resource includes sections on:

  • Arts and Literature
  • Biography
  • Business and Government
  • Current Issues
  • Geography
  • Health
  • History
  • Science and Math


Kids Search

KIDS SEARCH - is designed for students in grades K through 8. Kids Search provides elementary school students with an easy-to-use, graphically-appealing interface they can use to search their EBSCO databases.


Learning Express Library

Individual access to interactive practice exams based on official tests. Designed to help improve scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams.


Lexis Advance

LEXIS NEXIS (in library only) – contains thousands of publications which provide extensive sources of information in the field of law and legal research.


LingoLITE

LingoLITE™ helps you learn basic vocabulary in 30 languages.


Middle School Resources

This resource includes sections on:

  • Arts and Literature
  • Biography
  • Business and Government
  • Current Issues
  • Geography
  • Health
  • History
  • Science and Math


NCIS (Nevada Career Information System)

NEVADA CAREER INFORMATION SYSTEM - Designed for use by adults and High Schools.  Information and exploration tools contained in the NCIS are designed to help Nevadans make informed career choices and seek the qualifications necessary to be successful in the workplace.


NCIS (Nevada Career Information System), Jr

NEVADA CAREER INFORMATION SYSTEM, JR. – Designed for use in Middle Schools - information and exploration tools contained in the NCIS JR. are designed to help Nevadans make informed career choices and seek the qualifications necessary to be successful in the workplace.


Newspaper Source


Overdrive eBooks & More

Download ebooks and more with your Elko County Library Overdrive Account!


Professional Development Collection

Professional Development Collection - Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.


Regional Business News

Regional Business News - provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Click here for a complete title list. Click here for more info.


REVISTAS EN INGLES CON TRADUCTOR A ESPANOL


Salem Health

SALEM HEALTH – An up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for general readers and student research.


Salem History

Source documents, along with analytical essays and commentary provide compelling historical context.


Salem Literature

This resource features articles on notable writers of short and long fiction, from past and present, and from around the world.


Salem Science

Provides a wide variety of perspectives across domains of resource exploitation, environmentalism, ecology, geology, and biology, in terms accessible to students and other non-specialists.


Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center - is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.


Searchasaurus

Children’s magazines


Student Research Center

STUDENT RESEARCH CENTER - is designed for students in grades 6 through 12. SRC provides students in secondary schools with the most appropriate research tools to easily obtain the information that they need from their EBSCO databases.
Students can easily pre-determine which content sources (e.g., Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video) will be included with their search. They can also search their databases by topic heading, make use of an online dictionary and encyclopedia, explore the top searches of the day, and even limit their search according to appropriate Lexile reading levels.


Teacher Resources

This resource includes sections on:

  • Arts and Literature
  • Biography
  • Business and Government
  • Current Issues
  • Geography
  • Health
  • History
  • Science and Math


World Book Web

WORLD BOOK WEB – The World Book Web is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, all complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.


Zinio Magazines

Zinio Magazines       This link will allow you to set up your new Zinio account using your library.  Must create an account.   For a how-to video, visit http://vimeo.com/107853239.



VIEW BY CATEGORY